Skip to content ↓

The Governing Body

The Department for Education’s Governance Handbook assigns three core functions to the governing board:

1.     Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction

2.    Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the performance management of staff

3.     Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well spent

The local governing board of the Crazies Hill C of E Schools is comprised of eleven governors and has three main committees:

  • Finance and Human & Safety Committee

  • Parents and Community Committee

  • Staff and Curriculum Committee

For information about the governance in The Keys Academy Trust, please see here

To contact our governors, please email Chair of Governors

Committee Membership:

Type Name Committee Area of Responsibility

Chair of Governors


Mrs Lesley Turville

Parent & Community

Staffing & Curriculum (Chair)



Governor Development

Executive Head Teacher


Mr Luke Henderson

Finance & H&S

Parent & Community

Staffing & Curriculum


Head of School


Mrs Jo Shell

Finance & H&S

Parent & Community

Staffing & Curriculum


Vice Chair of Governors


Mr David Wyatt

Finance & H&S

Staffing & Curriculum

Health & Safety




Foundation Mrs Barbara Ratings Staffing & Curriculum




Trust Mr Mark Williams Staffing & Curriculum Computing
Parent Mrs Kathleen Sokolowski Finance & H&S




Parent Mrs Kirsten Drake Parent & Community

Parent & Pupil Voice



Trust Vacancy    
Trust Vacancy    
Invited Attendees
  Mrs Lisa Spooner Clerk to Governors  
  Mrs Helen Young Finance & H&S  
  Mrs Rachel Carter Finance & H&S  


Terms of Office:

Name Start Date End Date Term Appointed By
Mrs Lesley Turville 15/07/2020 15/06/2023 3 Years Trust
Mr Luke Henderson 01/09/2021 NA Ongoing Staff
Mrs Jo Shell 01/09/2021 NA Ongoing Staff
Mr David Wyatt 15/07/2020 15/07/2024 4 Years Foundation
Mrs Barbara Ratings 01/05/2019 01/05/2023 4 Years Foundation
Mr Mark Williams 18/11/2021 18/11/2025 4 Years Trust
Mrs Kathleen Sokolowski 05/12/2019 05/12/2023 4 Years Parent
Mrs Kirsten Drake 01/05/2019 01/05/2023 4 Years Parent


Governors Prior Academic Year Attendance:

Name LGB Meetings 2020-2021 Committee Attendance 2020-2021
Philippa Chan 6/6 12/12
Jo Shell 6/6 4/4
Lesley Turville 6/6 5/5
David Wyatt 6/6 5/5
Kirsten Drake 6/6 4/4
Emma Leatham 6/6 3/4
Helga Lehmann 6/6 3/3
Barbara Ratings 6/6 3/3
Kathleen Sokolowski 4/6 5/5
Luke Henderson N/A 3/3
Helen Wilson   2/2
Helen Young   2/2
Helen Turnell   3/3


Register of Other Interests As At September 2021

Name Other Interest
Lesley Turville St Mary's PCC
David Wyatt Robert Piggott Governor
Luke Henderson Staff
Jo Shell Staff
Kirsten Drake Parent
Kathleen Sokolowski Parent
Barbara Ratings  
Mark Williams  


North Hub Scheme of Delegation

Previous Governors:

Category Name End Date
Parent & Community Mrs Emma Leatham 01/09/2021
Staffing & Curriculum Mrs Helga Lehmann 31/07/2021